More than a month spanned fever got over with Australians Shane Warne, Shane Watson and Shaun Marsh being the winning captain, man of the series and top run scorer respectively and Pakistani Sohail Tanvir being the leading wicket taker in the inaugral "Indian" Premier League.
There is no Indian in the dais except Shreevats Goswami of RCB who got under-19 success player award.

IPL is peculiar place where you could see the teams - Rajastan, lead by Shane Warne, Hyderabad, lead by Adam Gilchrist, Mumbai lead by Shaun Pollock and Chennai, lead by Mahendra Singh Dhoni - They are relevant to the places in no way. Here is a dream IPL squad which is picked up simply based on final statistics - comprised of Indians 100%
  • Gautam Gambhir
  • Virender Sehwag
  • Yusuf Pathan
  • Suresh Raina
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C&WK)
  • Yuvraj Singh (VC)
  • Piyush Chawla
  • Irfan Patan
  • Santakumaran Sreesanth
  • Rudra Pratap Singh
  • Shikar Dhawan (subst.)
  • Robin Uthappa (subst.)
  • Pardeev Patel (subst.)
  • Yo Mahesh (subst.)
  • Manpreet Gony (subst.)
Why did none of them - business tycoons Ambani/ Mallya or bollywood stars SRK/ Preethi or brand names India Cements/ Deccan Chronicle or other stake-holders GMR Holdings/ Emerging Media try out such a team? Money overrides patriotism, obviously.


oh yeah ! money overrides what we think as patriotism

Popular posts from this blog

இறுதி இரவு [சிறுகதை]

கலைஞர்: நவீனத் தமிழகத்தின் சிற்பி

தமிழ் : சிறந்த 100 புத்தகங்கள்